East Grand Lake
MAINE SNOWMOBILE REGISTRATION
EastGrandLake.com wants to help make snowmobiling easy by providing resources to get riders on the trails as soon as the they are ready to ridden. If you click on this link to The Maine Dept of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife, both Maine residents & non-residents are able to re-register their snowmobiles online.
New registrations must be done through a registration agent (or at the IF&W main office in Augusta).
Residents & Non-residents may register snowmobiles online.
Before you attempt to register on the IFW website you should have the following:
BELOW IS A LIST BY TOWN OF REGISTRATION AGENTS WHERE YOU CAN GO TO REGISTER YOUR SNOWMOBILE IN THE EAST GRAND LAKE AREA.
Danforth, ME – Danforth Town Office
Address: 18 Central St., Danforth
Phone: (207) 448 -2321
Hours: 8:30am – 4:30pm
Orient, ME – Orient Town Office
Address: 82 School House Road, Orient, Maine
Phone: (207) 448-7729
Hours: Monday – Friday 9:30 am – 2:30 pm
Weston, ME – Weston Town Office
Address: 5 Church Ln, Weston, ME 04424
Hours: Monday – Thursday, 8:30 am – 4:00 pm, Friday 8:30 am – Noon
- $40* / yr. (July 1 – June 30)
The registration for a snowmobile owned by a resident is valid for one year, commencing on July 1st of each year. Prior to registration, sales or use taxes
- 3-day – $43*
- Season – $88
(A person may purchase more than one 3-day registration in any season.)
Children must be 10 years of age or older to operate a snowmobile, unaccompanied by an adult, on land other than that owned by their parent or guardian and must be 14 years of age before crossing public ways. Anyone who allows a person under 18 years of age to operate a snowmobile is liable (jointly with the minor’s parent or guardian) for any damages caused during operation.
* Plus Agent Fee
**”Resident” means a citizen of the United States or an alien who has been domiciled in the State for one year who:
a) if registered to vote, is registered in Maine;
b) if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, applied for, or possesses a Maine motor vehicle license;
c) if owning a motor vehicle located within the State, registered each vehicle in Maine;
d) is in compliance with the State income tax laws; and a person who is a full-time student at a college or university in Maine and has satisfied the requirements or A through D, above, can be considered a resident.
***This does not apply to the operation of an ATV on:
A. The land on which the operator is domiciled;
B. Land owned or leased by the operator’s parent or guardian; or
C. A safety training site approved by the department.
Below are the complete snowmobile registration guidelines for the state of Maine for the 2013-2014 year, they cover everything you need to know as well as much that you probably won’t ever use. In any event, we are supplying all of what’s available to cover any & all situations that riders may encounter when attempting to be compliant with Maine’s snowmobile registration laws.
1. Operating unregistered snowmobile.
Except as provided in this section, subsection 7 and section 13112, a person may not operate a snowmobile that is not registered in accordance with this section.
A. A registration is not required for a snowmobile operated over the snow on land on which the owner lives or on land on which the owner is domiciled, provided the snowmobile is not operated elsewhere within the jurisdiction of this State.
B. A registration is not required for a snowmobile operated by a commercial ski area for the purpose of packing snow or for rescue operations thereon, unless the snowmobile is required to cross a public way during that operation.
C. Snowmobiles owned and operated in this State by the Federal Government, the State or political subdivision of the State are exempt from registration fees, but must be registered.
D. Registration is not required to field test repairs to a snowmobile if valid snowmobile repair shop number plates issued under section 13110 are affixed to the snowmobile during the field test and the snowmobile is not owned by the snowmobile repair shop or any repair shop employee.
E. Registration is not required to field test repairs to a snowmobile when tested on the premises of the repair shop when the shop is open and the snowmobile is not owned by the snowmobile repair shop or any repair shop employee.
2. Application and issuance.
The commissioner or the commissioner’s designee may register all snowmobiles upon application and payment of a registration fee by the owner. The commissioner shall charge a fee of $1 for each registration issued by department employees.
3. Form of registration. The snowmobile registration must be in such form as the commissioner may determine except that the commissioner shall develop a single form of registration that can be used for either the 3-day or seasonal nonresident registrations.
Five dollars from each registration fee collected pursuant to this subsection must be transferred to a special fund administered by the Off-Road Vehicle Division of the Bureau of Parks and Lands within the Department of Conservation. The funds must be used to assist any entity that has a snowmobile trail-grooming contract with the bureau in the purchase of trail-grooming equipment. Seven dollars from each resident fee is transferred to the Snowmobile Trail Fund.
5. Antique snowmobile registration fee.
A resident who owns a snowmobile that is more than 25 years old and that is substantially maintained in original or restored condition may register that snowmobile under this subsection as an antique snowmobile. An antique snowmobile registration authorizes that snowmobile to be operated only for the purpose of traveling to, returning from and participating in an exhibition, parade or other event of interest to the public or for occasional personal use. (Antique snowmobiles are not required to display registration number or stickers). The one time fee for an antique snowmobile registration is $34 and can only be obtained at the Augusta office. An antique snowmobile registration is valid until the ownership of that antique snowmobile is transferred to another person. Upon the transfer of ownership, the new owner may re-register that snowmobile as an antique snowmobile by paying the $34 antique snowmobile registration fee. The registration fee for an antique snowmobile is allocated according to section 10206, subsection 2, paragraph A.6.
6. Members of armed forces permanently stationed in Maine.
The following persons are eligible to register any snowmobile owned by them at the resident fee:
A. Any person serving in the Armed Forces of the United States who is permanently stationed at a military or naval post, station or base in the State.
B. The spouse and children of the person described in paragraph A, provided that the spouse and children permanently reside with that person. A member of the armed forces described in paragraph A who desires to register a snowmobile shall present certification from the commander of the post, station or base, or from the commander’s designated agent, that the member is permanently stationed at that post, station or base. Registration fees for registrations pursuant to this subsection must be allocated as if the person registering the snowmobile was a resident of the municipality in which the post, station or base is situated.
7. Snowmobiles of nonresidents; Maine-New Hampshire Cooperative Trails.
Except as specifically provided in this subsection and notwithstanding any other provision of law, a snowmobile belonging to a nonresident may be possessed or operated by any person in this State as long as the snowmobile is properly registered in this State in the name of a nonresident owner of the snowmobile. Nothing in this subsection authorizes the operation of a snowmobile in a manner contrary to this chapter.
A. A nonresident is ineligible to obtain a resident registration for a snowmobile owned by that nonresident. Snowmobiles and grooming equipment registered to federal or state entities, snowmobile clubs, municipalities or counties from bordering states or provinces and engaged in trail grooming may be operated without being registered under this subsection. Snowmobiles registered in either New Hampshire or Canada may be operated on any lake or pond that is partly in both the State and New Hampshire or Canada without being registered in the State.
B. A snowmobile registered in this State or in New Hampshire may be operated without further registration requirements on those portions of the Maine-New Hampshire Cooperative trails located in Maine. For purposes of this paragraph, “Maine-New Hampshire Cooperative trails” means:
(1) New Hampshire Trail 18 as identified in the Success Pond – Grafton Notch area.
(2) Maine Trail ITS-80 as identified in the Evans Notch area of the White Mountain National Forest.
C.Snowmobiles registered in another state or in a Canadian province may be operated without a Maine registration at a special event or festival organized to occur in this State if such operation is approved by the commissioner. An event or festival organizer must submit a request in writing to the commissioner at least 60 days prior to the event or festival and shall include a map of trails where operation will be allowed.
D. Snowmobiles may be operated, without registration, at demonstration events approved by the Commissioner. For more info, contact the Department. Reimbursement for grooming and maintenance services on these trails may be through direct cash payments by users of the Maine-New Hampshire Cooperative Trails or through in-kind services. The costs of grooming and maintenance must be based on the average per mile costs to Maine and New Hampshire of providing these services.Signs on Maine-New Hampshire Cooperative Trails. The Director of the Off-Road Vehicle Division of the Bureau of Parks and Lands within the Department of Conservation shall work with the director of New Hampshire’s snowmobile program to develop and place signs clearly identifying the Maine-New Hampshire Cooperative trails as defined in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 12, section 13104, subsection 7.
8. Duplicate registration certificate.
The holder of any resident or nonresident seasonal registration certificate issued under this section may obtain a duplicate from the commissioner upon application and payment of a fee of $1.
10. Transfer of ownership, discontinuance of use.
The following provisions govern transfer of ownership and discontinued use.
A. A person who transfers the ownership or permanently discontinues the use of a snowmobile having a resident registration or a nonresident seasonal registration and applies for registration of another snowmobile in the same registration year is entitled to a registration upon payment of a transfer fee of $4 and is not required to pay the regular registration fee.
B. Whenever ownership is transferred or the use of a snowmobile for which a registration has already been issued is discontinued, the old registration must be properly signed and executed by the owner showing that the ownership of the snowmobile has been transferred or its use discontinued and returned to the commissioner within 10 days of the transfer or discontinuance of use.
C. If there is a change of ownership of a snowmobile for which a registration has previously been issued, the new owner shall apply for a new registration, and shall pay the regular fee for the particular snowmobile involved.
12-A. Registration certificate, inspection, and display.
A person shall provide a registration certificate or online registration receipt for inspection by any law enforcement officer on demand. A person may operate a snowmobile registered online without displaying the registration stickers until they receive the registration, or for 30 days after registering online, whichever occurs first.
13. Fraudulent acquisition of snowmobile registration.
A person may not obtain a snowmobile registration through fraud, misstatement or misrepresentation.
14. Report of destroyed, abandoned or permanently removed snowmobile.
A registrant shall notify the commissioner if a snowmobile is destroyed, abandoned or permanently removed from the State.
The following section provides information applies to specific types of individuals who offer registration services:
- Registration Agents
- Dealer’s registration and license
- Snowmobile repair shop registration and license
- Snowmobile rental agent certificate
- Registration of trail grooming equipment
§13105. Snowmobile registration agents
1. Appointment of snowmobile registration agents; report; fees.
Appointment of snowmobile registration agents and applicable fees are governed by the following.
A. The commissioner may appoint municipal clerks or other persons who a municipality may designate as municipal agents to issue snowmobile registrations. The commissioner may designate other agents as necessary to issue snowmobile registrations. The commissioner shall determine by rule the period when the agents shall act.
B. Agents may charge a service fee of not more than $1 for each snowmobile renewal registration issued and $2 for each registration covered by sections 13002 to 13005. This service fee is retained by the agent.
C. An agent is delinquent if that agent fails to forward to the commissioner funds collected by that agent by the date established in rules adopted under this subsection. Failure to remit the funds as provided in this subsection results in the following sanctions, in addition to any other provided by law.
(1) The commissioner shall charge interest on the amount owed at the rate of 18% a year for each day the agent is delinquent.
(2) If the agent has not paid the amount owed by the 60th day after the agent becomes delinquent, the commissioner shall assess a surcharge of 5% of the principal amount owed.
(3) If an agent is delinquent for more than 150 days or is delinquent 3 or more times in one year, the commissioner shall:
a) Terminate the agency for the balance of the year; and
** b)** Order that the agency not be renewed for the next year.
Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.
**2. Unlawful issuance of snowmobile registration. **
An agent may not issue a resident snowmobile registration to a nonresident or a nonresident snowmobile registration to a resident.
§13109. Dealer’s registration and license.
1. Application and issuance. A person may not engage in the business of selling new or used snowmobiles in the State unless the person has registered as a dealer and secured a valid dealer’s license from the commissioner. A dealer so registered and licensed need not register individual snowmobiles. For the purposes of this subsection, “new snowmobile” means a snowmobile that has not been registered in this State or any other state or for which sales tax has not been paid in this State or any other state if that other state taxes the purchase of a new snowmobile.
The dealer’s registration and license fee is $15 annually from each July 1st.
3. Dealer’s number plates. Dealer’s number plates must be provided and obtained as follows.
A. A registered dealer may receive dealer’s number plates. The annual fee for a dealer’s number plate is:
(1) For a resident dealer’s plate, $16.
(2) For a nonresident dealer’s plate, $60.
B. Replacement for lost or stolen dealer’s number plates may be obtained for a fee of $5 for each plate.
C. If a dealer’s number plate is lost or stolen, the owner shall notify the commissioner immediately.
4. Temporary registrations and numbers. The commissioner may issue temporary numbers and registrations for snowmobiles to bona fide dealers who may, upon the sale or exchange of a snowmobile, issue them to new owners in order to allow them to operate snowmobiles for a period of 20 consecutive days after the day of sale in lieu of a permanent number as required by this chapter.
5. Display of dealer’s number. Dealers shall display their dealer’s number on each snowmobile being used until the sale of the snowmobile, whereupon it becomes the owner’s responsibility to register the snowmobile.
A. A dealer who violates this subsection commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $500 may be adjudged.
B. A dealer who violates this subsection after having been adjudicated as having committed 3 or more civil violations under this part within the previous 5-year period commits a Class E crime.
C. Each day a dealer violates this subsection is a separate offense.
§13110. Snowmobile repair shop registration and license
1. Application and issuance.
A person whose business includes repairing snowmobiles but who is not required to be licensed as a snowmobile dealer under section 13109 may register that business entity as a snowmobile repair shop and secure a snowmobile repair shop license and number plate from the commissioner.
2. Fee.The commissioner shall set the fee for a snowmobile repair shop license. The fee may not exceed $15 for any 12-month period.
3. Field testing repairs on unregistered snowmobiles.
The owner of a snowmobile repair shop licensed under this section may operate or allow the operation of an unregistered snowmobile for the purpose of field testing repairs to that snowmobile if:
A. Valid snowmobile repair shop number plates issued under this section are affixed to the snowmobile during the field test; and
B. The snowmobile is not owned by the snowmobile repair shop or any person employed by the repair shop.
§13111. Snowmobile rental agent certificate
1. Registration and issuance.
Except as provided in this section, a person or business may not rent or lease a snowmobile unless that person or business:
A. Registers with the department as a snowmobile rental agent and is issued a snowmobile rental agent certificate from the commissioner;
B. Obtains a Maine certificate of number for each snowmobile being offered for rent or lease in the name of the person or business holding that certificate; and
C. Instructs each person who rents or leases a snowmobile how to operate the snowmobile, including how to use the brake, throttle and kill switch, and provides to that person a pamphlet describing proper hand signals.
2. Exception; Guides.
This section does not apply to a person lawfully engaged in guiding activities under section 12853 who accompanies others on guided trips that include the use of snowmobiles, except that such a person must provide the operators of snowmobiles with instructions equivalent to those described in subsection 1, paragraph C.
3. Fee. The fee for a snowmobile rental agent certificate is $25. The certificate is valid from July 1st to June 30th.
4. Prohibition; penalty.
A person may not rent or lease a snowmobile in violation of this section.
§13112. Racing meets.
Notwithstanding section 10650 and section 13106-A, subsections 14, 15 and 16, snowmobiles operated at a prearranged racing meet whose sponsor has obtained a permit to hold such a meet from the commissioner are exempt from the provisions of this chapter concerning registration, noise, horsepower and lights during the time of operation at such meets and at all pre-race practices at the location of the meet.
East Grand Lake Maine Snowmobile Registration
§13113. Registration of trail grooming equipment.
For purposes of this section, “trail grooming equipment” means a self-propelled vehicle that:
A. Has a minimum weight of 1,200 pounds;
B. Exceeds 60 inches in width;
C. Is driven by a track or tracks in contact with the snow; and
D. Is performing winter trail maintenance by plowing, leveling, or compacting snow by use of a front plow or rear attachments that include but are not limited to rollers, compactor bars, or trail drags.
2. Operating unregistered trail grooming equipment.
Except as provided in this section, a person may not operate trail grooming equipment on a snowmobile trail that is financed in whole or in part by the Snowmobile Trail Fund unless that trail grooming equipment is registered in accordance with this section.
A. A registration is not required for trail grooming equipment operated on land on which the owner lives or on land on which the owner is domiciled, if the trail grooming equipment is not operated elsewhere within the jurisdiction of this State.
B. A registration is not required for trail grooming equipment operated by a commercial ski area for the purpose of packing snow or for rescue operation, unless the trail grooming equipment is required to cross a public way during that operation.
C. Trail grooming equipment owned and operated by the Federal Government, the State, or a political subdivision of the State is exempt from registration fees, but must be registered and is required to display the registration.
3. Application and issuance.
The commissioner may register trail grooming equipment upon application by the owner if the owner is an organization that has an approved contract for snowmobile trail grooming with the Department of Conservation, Bureau of Parks and Lands, Off-Road Vehicle Division or a person that can provide proof to the department at the time of application that the person is a member of an organization eligible to register trail grooming equipment under this section. The commissioner may establish procedures necessary to carry out the purposes of this section.
4. Form of registration. The trail grooming equipment registration must be in such form as the commissioner may determine.
5. Fee. The registration fee for trail grooming equipment is a one-time fee of $34. The registration fee is valid from the date of issuance until the date that the equipment is sold or transferred. Revenue from the registration fee is allocated as shown below:
• 22% General Fund
** • 52% Snowmobile Trail Fund at Dept. of Conservation**
** • 26% Minicipality of County**
6. Fraudulent acquisition of trail grooming registration.
A person may not obtain a trail grooming equipment registration through fraud, misstatement, or misrepresentation.
NOTE: Qualified snowmobile trail grooming equipment is exempt from sales tax. Sales to incorporated non-profit snowmobile clubs **of snowmobiles and snowmobile trail grooming equipment used directly and exclusively for the grooming of snowmobile trails.**Sharing is caring:
RECREATION · SNOWMOBILING · SNOWMOBILE
east grand lake maine east grand lake maine snowmobile registration online Snowmobile Registration snowmobile registration snowmobile